Skip Navigation Links
04/08/2019 17:00
Northern Ireland Volleyball celebrate end of indoor season with annual awards
News from the National Federations

Belfast, Northern Ireland, August 4, 2019. The Northern Ireland Volleyball Association (NIVA) recently celebrated the end of the indoor season with their Annual Awards prize giving in Belfast. NIVA President Mrs Irena Manik welcomed the guests to a most enjoyable evening dinner before proceeding with the series of awards.

Craigavon Club Aztecs swept the men’s board with the League Championship, League Cup and KO Cup trophies and their women captured the Division 1, KO Cup and KO Plate titles. However, Grosvenor Belfast-based Fireblades emerged as the ‘Club of the Year’ having won women’s League Championship and League Cup and experienced only one season loss to Aztecs in the KO Cup Final. Newcomers Garvagh Phoenix won the Men’s Division 1.

The Men’s All Stars selected were David Park, Jeff Scott and Jonathan Workman of Ballymoney Blaze; Mark Fulton, Peter Stewart and Graeme Currie of Craigavon Aztecs.

Men’s All Stars, from left Jonny Workman, David Park and Jeff Scott (all Ballymoney Blaze) and Peter Stewart (Aztecs).

The Women’s All Stars were Emma Patterson and Siobhan Healy of Queen’s University Belfast; Stefania Bianchini and Sylwia Kaska Kowalczyk of Fireblades; Amy Wethers of Aztecs and Catherine Murphy of Ulster University Coleraine.

Women’s All Stars, from left, Sylwia Kaska Kowalczyk and Stefania Bianchini (Fireblades), Catherine Murphy (University Ulster), Emma Patterson and Siobhan Healy (Queen’s Belfast). 

Beach Volleyball winners were Roisin Roantree (Women’s Circuit) and Lilian Lieber (Queen of the Beach); Peter Stewart (King of the Beach), Alan McKnight and Jonathan Workman (Men’s Circuit).

Coaches awarded were Dr Ian Walker (Dalriada Ballymoney) as Youth Coach and Stephen McKeown (Sheffield and NIR Women’s Squads) as Coach of the Year.

The Young Player of the Year selected was Olivia Lyness (Craigavon Aztecs) who celebrated her first international caps in Luxembourg this spring.

Patrick Murphy with Outstanding Awardee Joanna McCrory.

The annual recognition for outstanding contribution to local Volleyball in recent past, The Patrick Murphy Award, went to Ms Joanna McCrory of Fireblades for her devoted work in Fireblades and the junior girls’ section at Grosvenor, her support to the Northern Ireland national teams and to developing the CEV Schools Project in the Province. The award does recognise her tireless efforts as Vice President of NIVA as well. Secretary General of the CEV Small Countries Association, Patrick Murphy presented the award to Ms McCrory.

Beach Volleyball continues in the Province each summer on sands at Portrush, Bangor and inland at Craigavon. Next year Northern Ireland Volleyball celebrates its 50th anniversary and plans are already afoot for a BIG Birthday Year.

Picture above:
NIVA President Irena Manik (3rd from left) with Club of the Year the Fireblades.

News nr. 2258 of 23547
04/08/2019 19:00:00
Vikings travel to EuroBeachVolley after retaining Vienna Major title
04/08/2019 14:30:00
Young guns and experienced teams vie for #EuroBeachVolley glory in Moscow
Advanced Search
Open the calendar popup.
Open the calendar popup.