Skip Navigation Links > Games of the Small States of Europe

General Information

The Games of the Small States of Europe was created following a proposal from Malta in 1985.  Since the inaugural edition held that same year in San Marino, the European Olympic Committees have run a multi-sport event for the 9 countries in the European continent that have less than one million inhabitants. 

The countries that compete are Andorra, Cyprus, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro and San Marino.  It takes place every 2 years in cities that are appointed from within the participating countries.

Subsequent games were organised in:

Monaco (1987)
Cyprus (1989)
Andorra (1991)
Malta (1993)
Luxembourg (1995)
Iceland (1997)
Liechtenstein (1999)
San Marino (2001)
Malta (2003)
Andorra (2005)
Monaco (2007)
Cyprus (2009)
Liechtenstein (2011)
Luxembourg (2013)

Iceland (2015)
San Marino (2017)
Montenegro (2019)

The last edition was held in Montenegro from the 27th May - 1st June 2019

The 2021 edition due to take place in Andorra was cancelled as a result of the coronavirus pandemic. Therefore, Malta is due to host the next edition of the GSSE in 2023.

The current included sports are: Athletics, Basketball, Beach Volleyball, Cycling (road), Gymnastics (artistic), Judo, Shooting, Swimming, Table tennis, Tennis and Volleyball.

Volleyball first entered the Games in 1987 with a men's Volleyball tournament, while Beach Volleyball joined the Games in 2005. 

Below is the official poster from the Cyprus Games of the Small States in 1989.

For more information please go to the European Olympic Committees Official Website.

Honours List

Latest News