Skip Navigation Links
22/10/2014 07:22
VakifBank edge arch-rivals Fenerbahce to claim season’s first trophy
News from the National Federations

Ankara, Turkey, October 21, 2014. The winners of last year’s Acibadem national league VakifBank ISTANBUL claimed the first trophy of the 2014/2015 domestic season as they routed arch-rivals Fenerbahce Grundig ISTANBUL 3:0 (25-20, 25-18, 25-23) to win the 2014 women’s Spor Toto Champions Cup.

VakifBank started the match with strong serving and got an 8:6 lead at the first technical time-out. It was team captain Gözde Sonsirma to set the pace for the winners of the 2013 CEV Volleyball Champions League moving the score up to 15:11. At this stage Korean superstar Kim Yeon-Koung stood up for Fenerbahce and after trailing 14:16, she helped her side fight back and level at 16 all. After that, VakifBank got back control of the game and with a series of hard spikes hit by Brazil’s Sheilla Castro, they closed it out at 25-20.

The start of the second set saw both teams siding out successfully and after leading the way at the first technical time-out (8:7), VakifBank scored three in a row to make it 11:7. Fenerbahce attempted a comeback and cut their deficit to only one point (14:13) with some spikes and blocks by Eda Erdem Dündar. VakifBank changed gear after the second technical time-out to finish the set at 25-18.   

Fenerbahce understood it was a make-or-break bout and started the third set with a very strong pace, claiming an 8:6 lead. They kept a margin of one point also at the second technical time-out and after the break continued to perform strong to make it 23:16. However, VakifBank did not give up and strong serving by Cagla Akin – she stood behind the service line for nine consecutive rallies – they flipped the charts around and closed the match at 25-23 for the final 3:0.

Gözde Sonsirma – who scored 17 points for the winning team – was awarded as the Most Valuable Player of this year’s women’s Spor Toto Champions Cup. Kim Yeon-Koung and Eda Erdem Dündar paced Fenerbahce with 11 each.  

The cup and medals for the winning team were presented by Turkish Volleyball Federation President Özkan Mutlugil. TVF Vice-Presidents Alper Sedat Aslandas and Mustafa Eksi awarded the players and coaching staff of Fenerbahce with the medals for the losing team.

News nr. 12030 of 23547
22/10/2014 10:11:00
Rookies Sir Safety PERUGIA take it one step at a time
21/10/2014 16:26:00
Jihostroj dealing with some injuries before start of Champions League season
Advanced Search
Open the calendar popup.
Open the calendar popup.
Search for:

Title and navigation
Title and navigation
<<<April 2024><<
April 2024